Three event championships put MU atop HCAC standings

Three event championships put MU atop HCAC standings

LEXINGTON, KY. – A pair of titles in the field events, coupled with a first in the 10,000 meters, put Manchester University squarely in first place after day one of the 2015 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Championships Friday, April 24.

Senior jumps specialist Bridgette Rowe (La Quinta, Calif.), the reigning conference outdoor Field Athlete of the Year, put her name in the running again this season with a fabulous Friday at the Transylvania University Athletics Complex. She won the high jump for the second successive season, earning a third outdoor conference outdoor individual event title (to go with her triple jump victory in 2012), by clearing five feet, five inches. Rowe added a runner-up effort in the triple jump, going 35 feet, four and a half inches, and qualified for the finals of the 100 meter dash.

Sophomore thrower Shay Aator (West Lafayette, Ind.) also successfully defended her title in the hammer throw. A top toss of 158 feet, eight inches bested the field by better than 17 feet.

Sophomore distance runner Mariah Jordan (Fort Wayne, Ind.) picked up MU's third event championship of day one. She registered a time of 37:51.84, the third-fastest in program history, and edged Earlham College's Emily Hauser (38:05.01) for first. Jordan's title was part of a big team points' pick-up for the Black and Gold, as fellow sophomores Tiffany Harber (Columbia City, Ind.) and Ruth Ritchey-Moore (Bryan, Ohio) ended third and fourth.

The Spartans' 87.5-point team total left them 46 points ahead of the field, as Hanover College was second after day one (41.5). Day two action begins at 10 a.m. in the field events and 10:30 a.m. in the running events Saturday, April 25.

NOTES: Aator's hammer throw championship was MU's sixth in the event since 1995 … Rowe's high jump top spot on the podium marked the fourth time the Spartans were first since 2008 … Jordan's 10,000 championship was the second time in the last three seasons and third time since 2010 that the Black and Gold claimed the event.