Five Spartans Honored by HCAC on Wednesday

Five Spartans Honored by HCAC on Wednesday

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Five Manchester University softball players were honored by the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference on Wednesday May 8 as the league announced its annual award winners.  Senior Katelynn Skeens (Gas City, Ind./Mississinewa) and sophomore Alexis Mokos (Cedar Lake, Ind./Hanover Central) earned First Team All-HCAC recognition.  Junior Makenzi Nyland (Avon, Ind./Avon) was named Second Team All-HCAC, while sophomores Haley Perez (Portage, Ind./Portage) and Page Magner (North Vernon, Ind./Jennings County) were named to the Honorable Mention team and Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship Team, respectively. 

All-HCAC Honorees

Skeens was named First Team All-HCAC on Wednesday.  This year, Katelynn led the conference and ranked 68th nationally with a .452 batting average.  The Spartan third baseman also led the HCAC with 52 hits and 34 RBI during the 2019 regular season.  Katelynn posted totals of seven doubles and four home runs.  Her .617 slugging percentage ranked fifth in the league.

Joining Skeens on the first team was catcher Alexis Mokos.  Alexis boasted the fourth-best batting average in the HCAC this season, finishing at .394 (41-104).  Mokos also finished fourth in the conference rankings with 30 RBI. Alexis finished the spring with nine doubles, four home runs, and had the conference's sixth-best slugging percentage at .596.

First baseman Makenzi Nyland earned Second Team All-HCAC honors.  Nyland hit a career-best .304 (28-92) in 35 games this spring.  Makenzi hit two doubles, two home runs, and one triple for the Black and Gold.  She added 22 RBI and posted an on-base percentage of .430.

Pitcher Haley Perez landed on the Honorable Mention All-HCAC Team on Wednesday.  Perez led the Spartans with six pitching victories.  She also tallied a team-high 34 strikeouts.  In conference games, Perez hit .378 (17-45) with four doubles, three home runs and 12 RBI.

Sophomore Page Magner rounded out the all-league honors on Wednesday afternoon as she was named to the Christopher M. Ragsdale Sportsmanship Team.