Manchester Athletics and SAAC Host Annual Awards Banquet

Manchester Athletics and SAAC Host Annual Awards Banquet

NORTH MANCHESTER, Ind. - The Manchester University M Association and the MU Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) hosted its annual athletic awards reception in the Jo Young Switzer Center on Tuesday evening. Manchester recognized some of its top student-athletes for their outstanding accomplishments on the field and in the classroom during the 2018-19 academic year.

Facebook Photo Gallery

Senior football standout Dillon Nelson (Fairland, Ind./Triton Central) and senior basketball standout Adrian Johnson (Indianapolis, Ind./Fall Creek) were named the M-Club Male Athletes of the Year.

Nelson hauled in numerous football accolades during his final season with the Black and Gold.  He was a Honorable Mention All-American and was a All-North Region First Team honoree.  Dillon anchored the Manchester defense all season and was named to the Team of the Week on October 16 after he posted five tackles for loss, three interceptions, and returned two interceptions for touchdowns in a 21-17 win over Bluffton.  Dillon earned a spot on the All-HCAC First Team after posting a career-high 63 tackles in 2018.  He also took over punting duties this past fall and punted 42 times for 1,472 yards.

Adrian Johnson finished his four-year basketball career as one of the most decorated Spartans in school history. This season, Johnson finished as the school's fourth all-time leading scorer with 1,854 career points.  He was a First Team All-HCAC performer after leading Manchester and ranking second in HCAC with 19.8 points per game.  Adrian also led the HCAC with 5.0 assists per game, and was third in the league with 2.0 steals per game.  This year, Johnson scored 10 or more points 22 times, 20 or more points 11 times, and 30 or more points twice (played in 24 games this year).

Junior Hannah Wappes (Columbia City, Ind./Columbia City) earned M-Club Female Athlete of the Year honors at Tuesday's reception.  Hannah helped lead the MU Women's Cross Country program to its seventh HCAC title in the fall.  She earned All-HCAC honors in cross country after placing fourth at the conference meet.  During the fall, she was the Blue River Collegiate Invitational individual champion and was named the HCAC Runner of the Week on October 2.  Wappes also excelled during the indoor and outdoor track & field seasons.  She was named the HCAC Indoor Track Athlete of the Week on February 11 and was the HCAC Indoor Champion in both the Mile and 3000m run.  Wappes added a second-place finish in the in 800m run.  At the outdoor championships, Hannah was the HCAC Champion in 1500m run and placed third in the 800m.

Men's tennis senior Connor Eichenauer (North Manchester, Ind./Manchester) and women's cross country/track & field senior Samina Qureshi (Columbia City, Ind./Columbia City) earned the M-Association Directors' Award, given annually to the male and female senior four-year student-athletes with the highest overall grade-point averages.

Eichenauer and Qureshi also garnered the Warren K. Garner Kiwanis (Male) and the Betty Clark (female) Awards for demonstrating the ideals of Manchester University in regards to academics, athletic achievement, leadership, service and courage. Samina also took home one final award on Tuesday night as she was named the M-Association Sportswoman of the Year.  Men's basketball player Keiton Hall (Lansing, Mich./Williamston) was named the Sportsman of the Year.

The Manchester SAAC also recognized eight student athletes, one male and one female, as Athletes of the Year in each respective class:

First-Year Athletes of the Year

Jordan Spearman (Men's Swimming & Diving)
Kelsey Tyler (Women's Cross Country)

Sophomore Athletes of the Year

Josh Gonzalez (Men's Soccer)
Tara Conley (Track & Field)

Junior Athletes of the Year

Donovan Henderson, Jr. (Football)
Hannah Wappes (WXC, Track & Field)

Senior Athletes of the Year

Dillon Nelson (Football)
Katelynn Skeens (Softball)